Taxonomy - Vervet Monkeys and their Conservation

Go to content

Main menu


Vervet taxonomy

Vervet taxonomy  has been a matter of uncetainty for some time, with various authors over time recognising  from one to six species, and from two to 22 subspecies. Here I will follow Groves' (2001) taxonomy in recognising vervet monkeys to be of the genus Chlorocebus and comprising of six species.

Back to content | Back to main menu